SpeedTest.Net results from different devices

I’m visiting my parents today, and one of the normal things I run a check on is the condition of their internet.

I’ve got the speedtest.net app installed on my iPad. Running it produced acceptable results. 17Mb/s is not great, but it should be good enough to stream HD video, and that’s the main thing I want to just work when I’m not visiting.

SpeedTestBoiseiOS

I brought up the website in my browser on my Microsoft Surface tablet and received significantly better results.

SpeedTestBoiseSurface

71Mb/s download is almost comparable to what I’m getting at home. At home I’ve got symmetric bandwidth, so my upload speeds are often better than my download speeds.

Both of these tests were run through an old Cisco RV110W Wireless-N gateway that only runs on 2.4GHz frequencies.

I’ve registered significantly higher speed transfers on my iPad in the past.

Is the iPad limited in it’s transfer speed when running 2.4GHz? It’s possible that the higher speed transfers in my iPad history were all when I was connected to my home router running 5GHz.

Leave a Reply

