Interesting BeagleBoneBlack Power Solution

I’ve been working on a project that I want to make portable that requires powering both the BBB and a USB hub, so that enough power is supplied to the required USB peripherals. While looking for other items in Fry’s recently I came across a USB Barrel Jack Adapter. http://www.frys.com/product/7726838 At only $3 for a part with reasonable strain relief I was quite happy to give it a try.

BBB Powered by USB Hub

Barrel Jack draws power from hub to power the BeagleBone

Items plugged into my USB Hub:

  • Linksys AE1000 802.11n WiFi Adapter connected to my 5.8GHz network
  • Barrel Jack Adapter providing Power to BeagleBoneBlack
  • Logitech C920 WebCam

Because of the orientation of the ports on my hub and the fact that the AE1000 is wider than most USB devices I’m not able to plug four devices into this hub. The BBB starts and runs consistently when I apply power to the USB hub in this situation. This is a good situation for me because it appears that I just need to properly power the 2Amp/5Volts required by the hub, and it can provide enough juice for the BBB to operate.

Leave a Reply

