End of Windows Live Messenger

Today I was forced to stop using Windows Live Messenger. It upgraded me to Skype. I don’t like the interface to skype for messaging mostly because of the way it looks. It’s not very informationaly dense.

Here is an example of the live messenger contact list next to the skype contact list that I took several weeks ago. The four large icons at the top of the skype window have an unclear meaning to me, and their size makes them look like they are designed to be hit with a finger instead of a mouse. i suppose that it fits in with the flat style that I was ranting about recently, but that doesn’t make me like it any more.

Image

 I rebooted my machine this morning, and when Windows Live Messenger attempted to login I could not get past this screen without clicking “Yes”.Image

When I tried to find out what’s new, it took me to a pretty bland skype page, with no real useful information:

Image

I let it upgrade me and got this series of screens:

ImageImageImageImageImage

Now I have no more messenger, and to top it off, all of the sounds are different so I don’t even notice if someone is attempting to send me messages.

Leave a Reply

